Rooting for Humpty Dumpty

Standard

Humpty dumpty sat on the wall…

Humpty dumpty had a great fall…

All the king’s horses and all the king’s men

Could not put Humpty Dumpty together again…

           So I came across a friend the other day and she asked me how I was… not the normal ‘how-are-you-I-am-fine’ conversation we give smiles and polite nods to oh! She came with this saddish air on her face, rubbed a hand on my arm of my hand-washed starched white shirt and asked, “sweetie, how are you?”.

See me, see trouble. I frowned, puzzled by this air of concern that had descended into the atmosphere and the completely unnecessary endearment, “I’m fine.” I quickly turned back to the screen and pretended to be studying critically the finer points of my Facebook home page.

A drag sound on the ground brought my attention back to her. She was pulling a stool close to me. I rolled my eyes, sighed audibly and adjusted myself away from her; signs that I had perfected with my parents when they wanted to talk about boys, sex and menses. Signs they recognized, understood and respected. Not her. Not this friend of mine. She sat and put her arm over my shoulder, over my hand-washed starched white shirt. I gave her the blank look I reserve for the severely stupid, “what?”

“you can tell me, honest… how are you… really?”

“I am fine. Getting irritated now. But still ok, but ask in five minutes; things will be WAY different.”

“So, you’re okay?”

“oh no! what gave me away, my cheerful demeanor, the laughter or the lack of tears.” Actually I didn’t say that. I gave a sarcastic smile I had perfected and said “for your sake I wish I were so we could actually have a conversation but I REALLY am okay.”

She sighed. Heavily. Like I were the one disturbing her. “I read your blog.”

I snorted. Tatafo! I am usually excited to talk about the blog but I just wanted her to leave me to my Big Bang Theory.

“you know? The heartbreak one…? The one about Ti.. the one about him? I didn’t know you liked him?” Hah! But girls are mebos sha! I have never even mentioned this dude to her oh.

“yeah, the world is a funny place of questions innit? Just as I don’t remember telling you about the blog?”

She pretended like I didn’t say anything, “eya… poor you. I always knew he was somehow…” She then proceeded to lecture me on the finer points of getting over a heart-break. The fact that I was watching Big-Bang Theory the entire time completely went over her head.

Finally, she found someone else to disturb and left. And I got thinking. Is a broken heart like Humpty-Dumpty? Will I wait for a bunch of people to help me get it all back on point? I could… but I won’t.

I’m no Humpty Dumpty.

6 thoughts on “Rooting for Humpty Dumpty

type now or forever hold your fingers :)

