… a tribute to my grand-mother

Standard

… a tribute to my grand-mother

What does one write in a tribute? Is it to get across that little bit of something you haven’t said and done in the past years? Because that’s what I think it really is… over time our loved ones become the least loved. They become the ones we snap at, get angry at, are least cheerful to… help out the least, complain about the must and all.

You take it for granted that they’ll always be there…that what you do won’t hurt that much… after all, what’s ‘sorry’ for before?

Death where is your sting…?

I know where it is… it’s in that moment you hears: “she’s dead.” That is where the sting is, that moment when you realize you have being cheated of that extra moment you had always thought you had to say a proper “Good-bye. I really DO love you, even though it seemed like I don’t plenty of times. Like not calling… rarely visiting… I just forgot. But now that I know this is the last time I’ll see you… that makes it different…” the sting of reality. The reality that life happens in time and you have to make each second count.

When peace, like a river, attendeth my way, 
when sorrows like sea billows roll;
whatever my lot, thou hast taught me to say,
It is well, it is well with my soul.

But then we look back and see the wonderful, fulfilling life she lived… all the traveling (outside the continent and where not)… that awesome shop at Falomo Shopping Center (KBS)… remember the stories my mum told me on the escapades when trying to steal hot chin-chin she made… when she was on the cheer-team for the Nigerian Football team… Her children, we the grand-kids. You realize there is no sting. She’s where I want to be… where we all want to be that far better place we all long for. I mean golden streets, mansions, official deal for perpetual happiness and no tears?! That’s a deal made in Heaven. 🙂

It hurts. A little bit for a while but when you forget your pain and think of how much of a joyous life Grandma is having. You don’t say “sun re” or “sleep well”. I certainly don’t want the granny I grew up knowing sleeping away amidst all that awesomeness.  I say: “have fun!” “can’t wait to see you again!’’ “get me a plot right next to yours!”  but, beyond all “we all miss you.”

4 thoughts on “… a tribute to my grand-mother

  1. “You take it for granted that they’ll always be there…that what you do won’t hurt hurt that much… ”
    You’ve got everything spot on. Except that my grandmother’s still alive and I still have time to change the way I talk to her, or spend more time with her.
    I think I will.
    I don’t want her last few years to be spent thinking that I don’t care for her anymore.

    Thanks a ton. 🙂
    And I sincerely hope your grandmother is having a Great time up there. 🙂

  2. Anonymous_D

    I av’nt cal’d ma parent’s since i saw dem last, i guess i beta tell dem ow 1derful de’ve bin to me then…And i tink i alzo nid to mit u & tel u hw inspiring ur blog av been 2 me & my frdz.

type now or forever hold your fingers :)

